DUI Frequently Asked Questions
If you are facing DUI charges in California, whether it is your first offense
or you already have one or more on your record, you are likely overwhelmed
and concerned about your future. At The Blalock Law Firm, PC, we believe
that everyone deserves compassionate and skilled legal representation,
which is why our San Rafael DUI defense team is dedicated to obtaining
the best results possible. In the meantime, to help shed some light on
your situation, we have compiled a list of answers to some of the most
frequently asked questions regarding DUI.
What are the penalties for a DUI in California?
DUI is treated seriously throughout the country and California is no different.
Depending on the number of DUI offenses you have on your record, the penalties
you face will vary. For a first-time offense, you could pay between $390
and $1,000 in fines, have your license suspended for 6 months, and receive
3 years of informal probation and complete 30 hours’ worth of DUI
classes. There is also a possibility that you might receive 48 hours to
6 months in jail, though most judges are lenient on first-time offenders
and do not order jail time. The fines for a second offense are the same
as the first, though you could face between 96 hours to a year in jail.
Most of the time this can be served under house arrest or jail-alternative
work programs. Second offenses also carry longer license suspension periods
and longer probation terms. For third offenses, the fine remains the same,
but other penalties increase, often resulting in jail time.
When can you get your license reinstated after a DUI conviction?
Before you can begin reinstating your license, you must wait for the license
suspension period to pass. This suspension period will vary depending
on how many offenses you have on record. You will also have to complete
DUI school and any other conditions of your sentencing before you can
begin the process. Next, you will have to get your car insured before
you get your license reinstated. Once these steps are completed, you can
go to the DMV and apply for reinstatement. To accomplish this, you will
have to pay a reinstatement fee. Your DUI will remain on your record,
however, until 10 years have passed.
Can I rent an apartment if I have a DUI?
A DUI will remain on your record for 10 years in California, so if you
end up having to go apartment hunting, prospective landlords will be able
to see that you were caught driving under the influence. Instead of having
this pop-up and surprise them when they run a criminal background check,
honesty is the best policy and could help your chances of being able to
the apartment you want. The fact is that finding an apartment might become
a bit difficult for you, but not impossible if you are able to explain
yourself and provide proof of steady employment.
Can I become a truck driver with a DUI on my record?
While you might not have as good a chance as someone who does not have
a DUI on their record, it is still possible for you to get a job as a
truck driver. This will greatly depend on how recent the conviction was.
For example, if the DUI on your record occurred within the past 3 years,
it is not likely that a company would hire you. On the other hand, some
companies might look at your driving record as a whole, so if the rest
of your record is unblemished, you might have a good chance of being hired.
After a second DUI conviction, however, you would lose your commercial
driver’s license (CDL) for life.
Can I get a restricted license after a second DUI?
Even after a second DUI, it is possible to obtain restricted driving privileges.
However, this is only possible if the offense only involved alcohol, and
if you completed all other mandatory requirements, such as DUI school.
You must also wait for the mandatory period of hard suspension to pass
before you can apply for a restricted license at the DMV. Remember, a
restricted license is not the same as having your license reinstated.
You will only be able to drive under limited conditions and, failing to
do so can result in your driving privileges being revoked for a longer
span of time.
Let Our San Rafael DUI Attorney Fight For You Today
A DUI conviction can dramatically change your life for many years to come.
If you have been arrested for DUI, it is imperative that you speak to
our San Rafael DUI attorney as soon as possible. There is a limited time
period to save your license and several different steps and deadlines
that you will need to keep track of. Our experienced lawyer can handle
all of these details for you and can also advise you about what legal
options are available to you. Regardless of whether this is your first
or third DUI, we are prepared to represent you. Let us help preserve your
reputation and all that you have worked for.
For the fierce legal advocacy you need, call (925) 259-3270 or contact our San Rafael DUI lawyer online
to discuss your case. We offer free, one-hour consultations!