Contra Costa County Multiple DUI Lawyer
Ask Our Experienced Multiple DUI Attorney to Help You Navigate Your Case
Although many first-time DUI offenses are charged as misdemeanors, repeat offenses may be charged as a felony, depending on your situation. Face these serious charges with the guidance of our experienced Contra Costa County multiple DUI attorney Anthony Blalock. We move adeptly through your charges, helping you understand your options as we press forward through your case.
Ask The Blalock Law Firm, PC for a free one-hour consultation by calling (925) 259-3270. We passionately protect the rights of our clients.
Stay Informed with the Guidance of Our Entire Legal Team
We focus exclusively on DUI Defense to better serve our clients. Our Contra Costa County multiple DUI attorney Anthony Blalock attended specific DUI training to handle DUI cases on the campus of the Harvard Law School. Our targeted knowledge gives clients an edge when facing prior offense charges; these circumstances require a trained eye and an intelligent defense.
Consequences for repeat DUI charges can include:
- 3 to 5 years of probation
- misdemeanor jail time up to 1 year
- Thousands of dollars in fines
- Mandatory participation in a DUI School
- Attendance at In-/Out-Patient Treatment programs
- Community service
- Loss of driving privileges for years
What Happens If You Get Two DUIs in California?
If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs for a second time in California, you will face harsher penalties than you would for a first offense. You may be fined up to $1,000 and sentenced to up to one year in jail. Your driver's license may also be suspended for up to two years. If you cause an accident that injures someone while driving under the influence, you may be charged with felony DUI and face up to three years in prison.
Repeat DUI offenders will also be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle at their own expense. This device prevents the car from starting if it detects alcohol on the driver's breath.
If you are facing a second DUI charge in California, it is important to seek legal assistance as soon as possible. An experienced DUI attorney can help you understand the charges against you and the possible defenses that may be available.
Felony Charges for Multiple Convictions
In California, you will likely receive a felony charge if you have had three DUI charges in the span of 10 years, had any prior DUI felony conviction, or injured someone during the commission of any DUI, whether a first, second, or third alleged offense. Even if one of your convictions occurred in a different state, it still shows up on your record and may count as a prior.
Felony DUI convictions include high fines, long jail or prison sentences, and long-term loss of your driver's license. We fight hard to avoid or eliminate a felony charge. You cannot get previous DUI convictions expunged from your record if you have a new DUI charge in progress or are currently on probation, so getting previous DUI convictions expunged should be a priority as soon as you are eligible.
Ask for a free consultation by contacting our Contra Costa County multiple DUI lawyer at (925) 259-3270.